Spider-love, Spider-hate

I lied down beside my daughter last night while I try to put her to sleep. She loves having me beside her while she doses off. But while I try to sing her some songs, she screamed “Hala!” We often say this when we try to scare her with some imaginary bugs coming her way. She would scream and laugh afterwards. But this time she found a way to scare Mommy! She said “Hala!” again and by this time she’s pointing at our ceiling. I stopped singing and looked at her. Following where she’s pointing at, I saw this huge spider! It’s about 3 inches big! My husband was not yet home and I found myself so helpless in this situation. My daughter’s the opposite. She got excited by seeing this creature! When I opened the light in our room, it crawled down to the side of my daughter’s bed. I was literally panicking. Good thing my daughter’s baby sitter was still awake so I had to ask her to put the spider out of the room. It took about five to ten minutes before it finally found its way out of our room. I don’t want it killed or crushed so she tried shoo-ing it away with a soft broom. Poor thing, must have gone scared as well! But I felt relieved now. Okay, back to sleep… Then my daughter cried! I mean, she wailed and doesn’t want to be carried, dropping all her weight to the floor! She must’ve wanted to see it up close and make friends with it. But Mommy got so scared that she won’t allow the little girl to get acquainted with it. Anyway, she kept tossing and turning in her bed before she finally fell asleep. Maybe if my husband were already in the house at that moment, he would laugh so hard at me! Ha! I can’t control my fear of spiders… not yet…