My First Veggie Pasta

Hi! In my previous post, I’ve mentioned that I made a “healthy” dinner for my family. I call it Eggplant Pasta. Clever recipe title, huh! Haha! Anyway, since I wasn’t that creative in giving a name for it, let’s just settle with that.

Here’s a photo of the finish product:

Image

For the ingredients and how it was done, let me just say that I’m not really that precise as to how many ingredients to put to make it taste wonderfully. In my case, as long as it satisfies my taste buds as well as those who I’m going to feed with it, then I’m fine. But for the benefit of those who wanted to know how I did this, here’s the list of ingredients:

• 1/4 kg shell macaroni (or you can use elbow macaroni as well)
• 115 g Tomato sauce
• 2 Tbsp cheese pimiento spread (I used spread because it’s easier to blend it with the rest of the ingredients. And I’m not really sure if it’s 2 Tbsp, but it’s somehow near that quantity. It may depend on how cheesy you want your sauce to become.)
• 1 clove garlic
• 2 medium size eggplant
• 4 small ripe tomatoes
• salt and pepper to taste

HOW TO:

1. I cooked my pasta first. To cook a pasta, bring to a boil a pot of water. When it’s already boiling, add about a Tbsp of cooking oil (or olive oil) and a pinch of salt. Then throw in your shell macaroni. Stir it for a while so they don’t stick to each other and onto the bottom of the pot. It takes about 5 mins only to have your pasta half-done. We don’t want to make it 100% done because we’re still going to cook it with the sauce. Drain it and wash it with cold water then put it aside for a while.

2. Cut the eggplant about half inch crosswise. Sprinkle some salt on it and place aside.

3. Slice your garlic and tomatoes.

4. Let’s go back to the eggplant: using a blotting paper, remove excess water from the eggplant. Then cut it into half-inch cubes.

5. Heat the pan. Add about 2 Tbsp of cooking oil. Saute garlic and tomatoes and then add the eggplant. When it’s about to become almost translucent, put about half a cup of water. Add the tomato sauce and salt and paper. Let it simmer.

6. Add the cheese spread and keep stirring. (If you don’t want a super thick sauce, add about 1/4 cup of water.)

7. I think it only took about 10 minutes to cook it. Close the fire and while it’s still hot, mash the eggplant. Then add your shell macaroni.

I think it’s good for 4-5 people. I partnered it with garlic bread. I hope you had fun reading this (as much as I had fun telling how I did it) and inspired you to cook this same recipe. Bon appetite! 🙂

