That Eight-Legged Creature

I SERIOUSLY am afraid of spiders, especially the big ones. I must say that, lately, I have somehow managed my fear. But that was only when they’re not moving from their position that I can continue what I’m doing near them. I can no longer trace back the time when I started feeling this towards spiders. What I remember was that in my early teens I have discovered the right word for my fear: arachnephobia.

Before, when I spot one in our bathroom, I’d immediately call my mother to shoo away this little creature. Now that I already have my own family, I rely on my husband to help me chase off those spiders. If he’s not around, I’d wait for the spider to hide itself somewhere. Until it’s at least 2 to 3 feet away from me or has gone somewhere I can’t see, I can only continue what I was doing.

When I woke up this morning, this little “friend” made its appearance in our bathroom. I managed not to freak out. I went in to pee on the toilet but I was very alert. Any moment it moved I would really scream to the top of my lungs and run as fast as I can out of the bathroom. Good thing it didn’t move! But just tonight as I was about to wash my face, it came out running from our garbage bin going near where I was standing. It crawled on the wall and it was only a few inches from me! I really screamed so loud so my husband could rescue me but as I ran out of our bathroom I saw him buried in his video game. My heart leaped and I really couldn’t explain what my whole body was feeling at that moment. But first, I went back to my senses. When the spider found a safe place for him, it stopped. That was only then I was able to wash my face. But I was crying. My whole body was shaking, my feet went cold. I guess my emotions doubled when I saw my husband glued on the TV screen as if he didn’t hear me.

I must admit that despite my fear of these creatures, I don’t like the thought of killing them. I can’t even spill water on them. I can’t crush them using a broom. I mean, they don’t harm me but they just make me jump out of my body whenever they crawl fast. I feel so sorry whenever my husband kills them. They’re really harmless and are no match with what my husband can do to them. I can only wish that they hide themselves from me so I can do the things I need to do and for them to do the things they need to do.

